Washington D.C.

21/6/2012

 
Yesterday we saw the Natural Bridge (picture group 1) and then we went by an old mill (picture group 2). We then drove through the Shenandoah National Park. We went to the Greenbelt Park campground near Washimgton D.C.at which point it was too late to write the blog.

Today we went to Washington D.C. by subway and walked near the White House. Although I was melting from the heat we managed to get photos of the White House and the Washington Monument (picture group 3). After this we went to the Smithsonian Museum of American History (picture group 4-6) where we ate and then looked at exhibits on inventions of technology and other things. We had dinner at a restaurant and then returned to camp where we took pictures of the fireflies (group 7, taken with I phone app slow shutter cam).
Picture
Top left: clock made by Timekeepers Union (or something like that) who later became IBM; top right: an early shopping cart and cash register; bottom left: the original peace sign; bottom right: an early model of a ship (I forget the ship's name).
Picture
Left, center: early batteries; right: an early arc lamp.
Picture
Top left: an early motor; top right: an early electricity meter;bottom left: an early generator; bottom right: me looking at some early batteries and motors.
Picture
All: fireflies. Photo taken with iPhone app slow shutter cam (each photo lasted a few minutes)
Annie
22/6/2012 02:14:15 pm

Good Evening Happy (hot) Travelers!

So glad you made it! I loved seeing all the pictures, wish I was there with you all. I really liked the slow shutter speed on the firefly photos. Can't wait to see more of the Smithsonian via your camera!

I over cooked the spaghetti noodles again...

~Annie

Anderson
22/6/2012 02:48:06 pm

Hey Patrick,
Sounds like you r having quite the time! The Smithsonian sounds (and looks) great. Is there actually an exhibit titled "Technology and other Stuff";)? I am looking forward to hearing more of your adventures. Keep us posted!~Anderson

Patrick Leiser
22/6/2012 11:43:35 pm

Is there actually an exhibit titled "Technology and other Stuff";)? -Anderson No, there was no exhibit called technology and other stuff, the technology was called "lighting a revolution" (read more here http://americanhistory.si.edu/exhibitions/exhibition.cfm?key=38&exkey=49 ) and the other stuff was near the entrance, I don't think it had a name.
-patrick


Comments are closed.

    Author

    I am Patrick Leiser and this is a blog for a vacation I am going on this Summer (summer of 2012) on it you can track my progress on my way to Washington D.C. and back.

    Archives

    August 2012
    July 2012
    June 2012
    May 2012

    Categories

    All
    At Home
    Driving
    Hotel
    Trailer
    Washington D.C.

    My location. (approximate, can only update occasionally (when I have access to computer))