Space!

29/7/2012

 
When we arrived at Titusville we went to a campground (manatee hammock county park.) After disconnecting the trailer, my mom insisted that we go to a hike called the enchanted forest, when we arrived, we found out that it closed in two minutes and therefore we had to leave. We then went to a restaurant where I didn't eat much (spaghetti alfredo, which I would usually love) because my mom ate a lobster which grossed me out (I hate seafood) :( . After eating (a little) we looked out the window and saw many turtles, swimming around and being turtles in a pond. After dinner, we went to a pier near camp, where we saw NASA's VAB (Vehicle Assembly Building)

The next day we went to the Kennedy Space Center and I decided to ride a shuttle simulator (picture group 1, it was fun, I highly recommend it) my mom was afraid to go on it, do watched a video of me riding it(enabling her to take photos (without worrying about the camera (IPhone) falling on people behind us (when pointing up))) after the ride, my mother felt sick, so we left and went to the doctor, where they determined she had a bladder infection, and gave her the appropriate medicine. Because she was sick we went to a hotel (best western), where I swam in the pool.

The next day we stayed in the hotel because my mom was still sick.

Yesterday, we went to the space center again, first we went on the shuttle again (I convinced my mom to ride this time, she loved it!), followed by the exploration space room. We saw a movie about the Hubble Space Telescope. We then took a tour bus past many things, such as the VAB (mentioned above), it stopped at an observation tower, where we saw an engine, two launch pads, back on the bus, we saw VAB (up close this time, picture group 4) We saw a portable launch pad (it moves at a blistering 1/2 mph and gets 22 feet per gallon of fuel!) we then got to another stop, where saw the real mission control for the apollo moon missions where there was a great video about the moon landings and space race(picture group 5) then we saw the Saturn 5 rocket. After this we took the bus back and watched another movie, this one about the ISS (International Space Station) followed by a room about robots.

Today we went to the astronaut hall of fame, which was not very entertaining (it didn't help that the simulators, including one that submits you to four times earth's gravity (by spinning you) were broken) :( .
Picture
Left, top right: me in the shuttle simulator (photo taken by my mom of a tv screen showing the simulator); bottom right: our campground
Picture
Top left: me wearing 3D glasses from the movie; top right: a humanoid robot talking about NASA; bottom: an engine from the Apollo missions.
Picture
Top left: the VAB from the viewing tower; top right, bottom left: the two launch towers (39A & 39B); bottom right: a model of the shuttle before launch.
Picture
The VAB (Vehicle Assembly Building), which has the largest volume of any building in the world.
Picture
Top mission control of the apollo missions (not a replica, the real thing); bottom: another photo of the space shuttle simulator.
Picture
The Saturn V (Apollo) rocket
Picture
Top left: the Saturn V rocket; top right: one of the apollo lunar modules; bottom left the VAB with smoke behind it (probably from controlled burning (not from a space ship taking off, unfortunately); bottom right: a photo of me overlaid with an astronaut's spacesuit in space.
Anderson
30/7/2012 03:36:26 am

Hey Patrick,
Sounds like you and your mom had quite the adventures, with all the infected bladders and shuttle simulators. Glad your mom's Iphone didn't become a projectile hurtling towards one of your fellow tourists in the face on that ride :). However, I do have one question. Did you ever get to stay in the Manatee Hammock National Park? Didn't hear much about that. My mother has informed me that she informed you that I had a rather nasty bacteria in my ear (Pseudomonas, or something along those lines). I am still recovering, but I'm doing a lot better :). I hope your mom gets better soon~Anderson

Annie
30/7/2012 04:48:38 am

Hello Transcontinental Travelers!

Now, I have to know...do the manatees have their own water hammocks? It makes a wonderful mental picture, so I hope they do!

How fun to get to see all the space stuff and ride the simulator! I am glad your mom got to do it too!

Quick update on local news...Sam Moore had a bike accident two days ago and ended up in the hospital. He has broken ribs and (I think) a punctured lung. He is recovering and will be O.K. Just pretty scary! I know your mom would want to know, so make sure you tell her. (thanks!)

I hope your mom enjoyed her lobster! (sorry it ruined your dinner!)

Keep us informed on your travels. I get a bit worried if we don't get an update every day or so.

Take Care,
Annie

Patrick Leiser
30/7/2012 05:03:10 am

Reply to Anderson "Did you ever get to stay in the Manatee Hammock National Park?" yes, but only for one night. " I am still recovering, but I'm doing a lot better :).-Anderson" I am glad you are feeling better~Patrick

Patrick Leiser
30/7/2012 05:09:48 am

"Quick update on local news...Sam Moore had a bike accident two days ago and ended up in the hospital. He has broken ribs and (I think) a punctured lung."oh no! " I know your mom would want to know, so make sure you tell her." I did "I get a bit worried if we don't get an update every day or so. - Annie" I will try to update frequently, and I set a timer on my mom's iPhone to remind me every other day.
~Patrick

Annie
30/7/2012 07:14:05 am

Thanks Patrick!


Comments are closed.

    Author

    I am Patrick Leiser and this is a blog for a vacation I am going on this Summer (summer of 2012) on it you can track my progress on my way to Washington D.C. and back.

    Archives

    August 2012
    July 2012
    June 2012
    May 2012

    Categories

    All
    At Home
    Driving
    Hotel
    Trailer
    Washington D.C.

    My location. (approximate, can only update occasionally (when I have access to computer))