edit: missing photo added


The day started off badly. I spent an hour on yesterday's blog but when we went to a cafe with wifi (so it would post faster) the (weebly iPhone) app closed and I had to start over from the beginning which took another hour. When we finally got started, we took the metro to the Smithsonian museum of natural history, where we spent the day. While there we saw fossils of ancient sea life(picture group 1), dinosaurs,and mammals(also group 1), as well as modern insects(picture group 3). Later, while we were eating, there was a thunderstorm and I got slightly ensoggied (wet) on the way to the car. When we got back to camp it was still raining so we retreated into the trailer.
Picture
Top left: a modern elephant; top right: a huge, extinct sloth; bottom left: a four horned creature (related to an antelope (if I remember correctly));bottom right: an extinct fish.
Picture
Top: a t-rex; bottom: a triceratops.
Picture
View from the national mall ("behold the mational mall" my mom said(she accidentally said mational instead of national))
Annie
23/6/2012 11:59:28 pm

Hi Patrick ~

Sorry for your troubles but we certainly appreciate your persistence! If Abigail ever gets to visit the Smithsonian (and I hope she does) the natural history exhibits will be her favorites!! After your thorough perusing of the Smithsonian exhibits, I would like to know which exhibits you liked the best... Love the pictures you posted from your day, especially the t-rex & triceratops skeletons.

The afternoon thunder storm is very common where we visit in Tennessee too. Hope it didn't keep you confined to the trailer for too long! Did it affect the nightly appearance of the lightning bugs?

Wondering what amazing sites you will visit and see today??

~Annie

Patrick Leiser
24/6/2012 03:54:11 am

"After your thorough perusing of the Smithsonian exhibits, I would like to know which exhibits you liked the best..."-Annie

So far my favorite thing was the natural history museum's exhibit called "life in the ancient seas",it was cool to see how all the life evolved into strange forms (long cone shell with many tentacles,head sized trilobites,etc.). The Air and Space museum was cool too.~Patrick


Comments are closed.

    Author

    I am Patrick Leiser and this is a blog for a vacation I am going on this Summer (summer of 2012) on it you can track my progress on my way to Washington D.C. and back.

    Archives

    August 2012
    July 2012
    June 2012
    May 2012

    Categories

    All
    At Home
    Driving
    Hotel
    Trailer
    Washington D.C.

    My location. (approximate, can only update occasionally (when I have access to computer))